No! Drink! Till Georgia!

A couple of years ago I decided to embark on a new challenge: go the month of March without drinking any alcohol. It turns out that because of my birthday and a trip I was taking to Mexico, my goal was cut short to be only a few booze-less weeks. Nonetheless, I skipped out on St. Patrick’s Day drinking, which was enough of a challenge.

It’s two years later, and I have decided to attempt the same thing. For the first 16-17 days of March, I will go sans alcohol. I am doing this for a few reasons. Like the last time I did this, one reason is to lose weight. Another reason is to save money. I was discussing this with a friend last night and he estimated spending something like $11,000 a year on alcohol. I’m sure one less month of spending money on alcohol would be a wise decision. A third reason I’m forgoing the booze is to loosen up my tolerance to the stuff.

This year for my birthday and St. Patrick’s Day, I am taking a trip to Savannah. Apparently Savannah makes a huge ordeal of this Irish holiday and so my friend and I are going to check it out. I’ve decided that if I don’t drink till Savannah, then my alcoholic experience in Georgia will be even more intensified!

So this month’s challenge has a name. It is inspired by a Beastie Boys song (below). I’m calling it, “No Drink Till Georgia!”

This entry was posted in Food/Drink, Ponderings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No! Drink! Till Georgia!

  1. intrepidtraveller says:

    Love this! I am doing something very similar – “alcohol free March” to save up for my field trip to Georgia (although not sure we are going to the same Georgia as I’m heading to the former Soviet state as opposed to the American one! ) 🙂

  2. Pingback: Ending My Dry Spell | C.A.P.S.Love Two: The Girl On The JumboTron

Leave a Reply

