Drunken Signature Art 3

It’s a mere days away from St. Patrick’s Day and plenty of bars and parties are getting ready to go all out! I like to think of St. Patrick’s Day (and Mardi Gras) as an Americanized “holiday” in which some people may reserve for religious or culturally significance, but somehow along the way, the day also became synonymous with binge drinking!

So to honor the Green Day that is almost upon us, I am showcasing another fine example of one of my Drunken Signatures which I believe could be beautiful art:

This fellow’s a little embarrassing. It was on a Tuesday. Granted, it was one of the more stressful days of my job, and if I remember correctly, I had been dealing with an above-average annoying client. Plus- I had a coupon for a free beer at Hill Country which would expire at the end of the month. It was definite cause to imbibe and tipsily scrawl out my signature on a receipt before Happy Hour could even end in many places.

In this typographical genius, one can almost make out my first name. But once I got to the  fifth letter, I pretty much lost all hope. That’s ok! I love the over-bearing, roller-coaster loops in this signature. I apparently felt like making a grand statement with this piece of art, since you can see that my writing was grandiose in size and presentation. The blue pen I used also unexpectedly stands out nicely from the fading receipt.

This entry was posted in Arts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

