Some Smart Similes in Song

Great song lyrics can be a very memorable and fantastic thing. When lyrics are just right, the poetry can work wonders. Sometimes I’ve found that the best lyrics come in the form of similes. A simile (not to be mis-read as a smile), is a comparison using the words, “like” or “as.” Similes are a variation of the metaphor and are great inclusions in song-writing.

Today I would like to share with you a few of my favorite song lyrics that all share one thing coincidentally in common: they are similes. Join me as we troll some great lyrics in the music business.

“I’m killing your brain like a poisonous mushroom.”

“It’s like a cartwheel in my head, but my legs are made of lead.”

“Now there’s a look in your eyes, like black holes in the sky.”

“Well your heart’s like a blackened piece of coal now; and I doubt that you ever had a soul now.”

This entry was posted in Arts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

