The Grass Is Always Greener… In The South

I’ve been thinking a lot about the state of my life lately and have concluded that I need some serious change. Specifically, I’m thinking a new location would be nice. I believe that with this triple change, my life could successfully turn around from doing the same old thing day in and day out.

A couple snags in my thought process have presented themselves however. First of all, while ideally, I would like to move sooner rather than later, I sort of have things in this area (specifically concerts) planned through the end of July. While I suppose I could always just fly back to this area, it is a bit of an issue. Plus, the main locations that I’m interested in moving to are all in the South, and moving to the South during the summer, sure doesn’t sound like fun. (Though I argue that if I’m going to be living there, I might as well get used to the sweltering heat.)

Texas Heat = Hell (or so I’m told)

For as long as I can remember, I’ve been intrigued with the Wild West/Southern part of the country. For this reason, my top three locations on my list to move to are Austin, Savannah, and Nashville. Each of these cities has its pros and cons. A main issue for me has been to live in a city with hockey and unfortunately, only Nashville has a team to vouch for. (The closest hockey club to Savannah is in Raleigh, North Carolina, 5 hours away. The closest team to Austin is in Dallas, which at least is in the same state, but Texas is so big that it’s three to four hours away.)

With the major issue of hockey to consider, each of these cities do have their own unique advantages to living. From what I have gathered, Austin is an extremely low-cost city to live in (or at least when compared to D.C.). That’s a huge plus. Plus, aside from fulfilling my fantasy of living in a cool state like Texas, Austin seems to be a very hip and youthful city, which is definitely appealing. Like I have already mentioned, Nashville has a hockey team. That’s a huge plus for me. Plus, the city is awesome and music-centerd too. Savannah on the other hand, would be great to live in, as it’s an extremely walkable city, and thus I wouldn’t have to go out and buy a car just to be able to get around my proposed new locale. Savannah’s open alcohol policy is another huge advantage.

So I’ve got a lot to consider, obviously. Ideally, I’d like to move by the end of the calendar year, though more realistically, this move might not happen till a deadline of next spring. Many people have been telling me that they don’t think I could/would go through with such a dramatic change, but boy would I like to prove them all wrong…

This entry was posted in Ponderings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Grass Is Always Greener… In The South

  1. Pingback: Memphis Brings Baby Bop To The Kennedy Center | C.A.P.S.Love Two: The Girl On The JumboTron

Leave a Reply

