Playoffs Capitals And Disney: Almost There

As I’ve mentioned before, there have been a few instances where Disney and the Washington Capitals have crossed paths. I find this especially fantastic to note, because these are two of my biggest passions in life.

It all started when I saw the movie, “The Princess and the Frog” and noted a cool detail in one of the songs.  Next, in all too perfect of a follow-up, former Capitals coach, Bruce Boudreau got a new job coaching the Anaheim Ducks (note: Anaheim is where Disneyland is). And now we’ve come to the third segment in our of Caps-Disney related timeline.

Speaking of the movie, “The Princess and the Frog,” I was listening to the soundtrack again last night and realized that one of the songs is the perfect anthem for the Caps for tonight when they face the New York Rangers in Game 6. It’s a do-or-die situation and appropriately enough, the Caps are almost there…

Here are some of the lyrics for further proof:

And I’m almost there, I’m almost there
People down here think I’m crazy, but I don’t care
Trials and tribulations, I’ve had my share
There ain’t nothing gonna stop me now ‘cause I’m almost there

I remember Daddy told me: “Fairytales can come true
You gotta make ’em happen, it all depends on you”
So I work real hard each and every day
Now things for sure are going my way
Just doing what I do
Look out boys, I’m coming through

And I’m almost there, I’m almost there
People gonna come here from everywhere
And I’m almost there
I’m almost there

I think the Caps should totally play this during the game. I know they won’t though, because the Disney reference is both a) not a tough enough attitude and b) might give off the impression that the Caps miss/yearn for Boudreau, and that isn’t necessarily true. But either way, come on, Caps! You’re almost there!

This entry was posted in Arts, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

