Uncle Lucius: Pocket Full Of Misery Parody

Many of you may know me as a visual artist (see my portfolio here) and others of you might know that I can be quite musical (I play piano, bass guitar, sing, etc.), but did you know that my musical talents can also extend to the lyrical song-writing field? Behold, today I share a parody I have written of one of Uncle Lucius’ most popular tunes!

I’ve written about their tune, “Pocket Full Of Misery” on my blog before. (If you have not read my cross-examination of the song, I’d definitely recommend the read/listen here.) I was feeling especially creative the other day, and decided to write a somewhat fictional tune. Check out the video and my new lyrics below it. Feel free to sing along!


7-4-7 is the monthly rent/
Being unemployed makes me lament.

Singin’ hey hey mama, come help me.
It’s Friday the 13th
And I’ve got my share of misery.

Billowing bad news, yeah it keeps on piling up/
Whiskey doesn’t help much, but at least it fills my cup.

And I’m singin’ hey hey mama, come help me.
It’s Friday the 13th
And I’ve got my share of misery.

Way deep in D.C. where it’s always the same/
Once that was easing, but now it just seems lame.

And you’re singin’ hey hey mama, come help me.
It’s Friday the 13th
And I’ve got my share of misery.

Yes we’re singin’ hey hey mama, come to me.
It’s Friday the 13th
And I’ve got my share of misery.

This entry was posted in Arts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

