The Milkshake Taste Test: Bobby’s Burger Palace

I will come right out and say it: I am not a fan of Bobby Flay. Even so, I decided to take a trip to his “palace” of burgers, “Bobby’s Burger Palace” for a milkshake. I had been one other time, years ago when the DC location on K St. just opened to try the burgers and felt they were lackluster. However, this time I was hoping things would be different since I was just going for a milkshake.

When I arrived last night, it was dinner time and the place was sparse of people. It was kind of pathetic for a place called a “palace.” I ordered the Mocha milkshake because I couldn’t decide between the Dark Chocolate and the Coffee flavors. I was glad that getting whipped cream on top was an option, so I declined as I have learned I can not suck that easily through a straw. This was the first milkshake of a record for me two-milkshake dinner (where I went to different places for my shakes) and I have to say, this one was the better shake.

IMG_3486

It’s a bad sign when a shake comes with a spoon, but thankfully it wasn’t needed.

VALUE: 7/10  This wasn’t the most filling or satisfying shake, thus the need to go elsewhere for a second shake. Nonetheless, for $5, the price was not bad. Plus, if you show a valid student I.D.,, you get some sort of discount off your order. -I’m not sure what the discount is though, as it seemed to just eliminate tax. Could be worse, I suppose.

SIZE: 7/10 Once again, an average shake size. I also seem to think that the pouring of people’s shakes was not consistent as I noticed some people got more than others. Odd.

FLAVOR VARIETY: 7/10  Bobby offers up 10 flavors and 3 additional non-alcoholic ones. Of the 10, you’ve got your standard (Dark) Chocolate/Vanilla (Bean)/Strawberry. More unique flavors include: Mocha, Pistachio, Coconut, Coffee, Mint Chocolate Chip, Blueberry-Pomegranate, and Black & White. Not all of these have mix-ins so that was good.

DRINKABILITY: 7.5/10  This shake was pretty thick and with the large straw it came with initially, it was difficult to drink. Thankfully I got a regular sized straw after asking for one. I was not expecting a Mocha shake to be an issue with an mix-ins, or bits of anything, but as it turned out, the shake was filled with bits of coffee grounds. A nice touch for your average consumer, but for my wired-closed jaw, the grounds were unable to make their way through my jaw. This wasn’t as bad an issue as other not entirely smooth shakes have been for me, but the coffee grounds instead kept getting stuck in the pockets of my cheeks. The shake was drinkable otherwise, but I did need the aide of water in order to swish the grounds out of my mouth.

OVERALL SATISFACTION: 8/10  Despite an almost even score of sevens, this shake got bonus points from the flavor. I did enjoy the Mocha I got, and was only inconvenienced by the coffee grounds. I would rather get tiny coffee grounds stuck in my cheeks than larger chunks stuck in my teeth/metal on my teeth. Plus, a straw proved to be no obstacle for the steady stream of coffee grounds, so that was a nice change.

This entry was posted in Food/Drink and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

